The James River Water Development District cooperates with agencies, landowners and the general public and may participate in the planning and implementation of programs and projects that support the restoration of the James River Watershed and ecosystem.  We will continue to improve the services we deliver and the benefits we provide to the citizens in the District.


The James River Water Development District includes all of Brown, Spink, Beadle, Sanborn, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, and Yankton counties; Buffalo, Dayton, Dumarce, Eden, Fort, Hamilton, Hickman, Lake, Lowell, Miller, Newark, Newport, Pleasant Valley, Red Iron Lake, Sisseton, Stena, Waverly, Weston, and Wismer townships in Marshall County; Pleasant Valley, Bristol, Belford, Cooper, Firesteel, Palatine, Plankinton, Hopper, Pleasant Lake, Dudley, and Aurora townships in Aurora County; and all municipalities that are wholly or partially within the included area or that are contiguous to the included area.

September 9, 2021: Chairman Dan Klimisch of Yankton announces that the James River Water Development District awarded $266,751.10 in cost-sharing assistance at their recent Board of Directors meeting held in Huron and by way of Zoom.

Download Project Assistant Application 

Project Assistant Applications are due in the James River Water Development District office 10 days prior to a meeting to be added to the agenda.